The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner

29562590Set on a lonely island in the Pacific northwest, The Twilight Wife is a thrilling mystery that will leave readers turning pages.

Kyra Winthrop’s diving accident turns her world upside down. Despite the fact that her loving husband, Jacob, patiently helps her heal, she can’t stop questioning the events of the tragedy. As memories unfold, Kyra grows more and more unsure until everything she thought she knew about her life is called into question.

I won’t lie. The mystery is inventive and leaves you guessing; however, my favorite part of the book is the setting. Banner does an outstanding job of describing the lonely island and its quirky inhabitants. Had this been a travel book, I would have packed my bags and headed straight for Kyra’s cottage.

But I digress. Kyra was a good protagonist – likeable and smart. Although she was, at times, a little too trusting, it was easy to understand why she would be this way given her circumstances. I was meh on her husband, however. I wanted him to have more personality, especially at the beginning of the book.

My only other complaint was that I guessed at what had happened before Kyra did (although, not by much). I would have liked a little more surprise.

All in all, however, this was a very enjoyable read. I like how the author was able to put me directly in the middle of the story. I really felt that I was there. I look forward to reading more of her books in the future.

Thanks to Netgalley and Touchstone Publishing for the review copy.

Author: Coffee Shop Book Review

Books? Coffee? Separately, they're great, but combine them and - WOW! I'm a fifty-something bookaholic who's addicted to fiction. All kinds of fiction. All of my reviews are my own opinion. I do not sell my reviews or review for money.

2 thoughts on “The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner”

Leave a Reply

